Success

success

While doing some online research, I stumbled across an article that asked: How do you define success? Hmm, what a big question. I don’t believe material symbols, wealth, plaques on the wall, or being famous equate to success. A serving spirit, honesty, and an honorable character are a few of the benchmarks I choose. I’d also add a life filled with purpose as a priority.

With that said, striving for success can be challenging. Sometimes daily struggles can shift my attitude causing negative thoughts and a judgmental spirit which definitely doesn’t align with an honorable character. It really got me thinking about how easily my priorities stray. Choosing to be disciplined is another key. Seeking spiritual nourishment from scripture and inspirational quotes temper my angst and get me back on track. I stumbled across this lovely verse by Ralph Waldo Emerson. It’s definitely a keeper.

Success

To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to succeed.   Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

