Wherever You Go, There You Are!

          I adore profoundly simple words of wisdom like Wherever You Go, There You are. For me, this statement, though quite elementary, sings JOURNEY. Webster defines journey as something suggesting travel or passage from one place to another <the journey from youth to maturity> <a journey through time>. Now we’re talking! Who doesn’t like a journey, an exploration, or a quest? What about discovering what’s on the other side of that wall?

            My inspirational writing journey started eight years ago. I was inspired. An intriguing tale settled in my soul and took root.  I hesitated at first then spent a few months dancing with doubt. I was a forty-something empty nester with a full life. Why would I be drawn to something I knew nothing about? Soon the desire to write my story became unquenchable. I had to try. Timid and naïve, I took a leap of faith and embarked on a new journey. After eight years of countless workshops, writing classes, critiques, edits, rewrites, conferences, meetings, rejections, and hard work, my book is graduating from “draft” to “published”. But this isn’t about a shameless plug for POWERLESS CONSENT. It’s about following your heart’s desire even if it means stepping onto a new path. Don’t let fear, doubt, or an unwillingness to learn keep you from growing. Passion sometimes blossoms from unlikely sources.

          Challenge youself to try something new and different before 2012 comes to a close. Who knows, where you end up may be better than where you are.

12 thoughts on “Wherever You Go, There You Are!

  1. LOVE the inspirational picture!! I hesitate to “try something new and different”, but travel (journeys, if you will) have always been irresistable. I like the way you connect the two ideas. You’ve inspired me! Thanks. P.S. Can’t wait for your book to be published.

  2. Jan,
    Watching you grow in this journey has been like watching a tiny rose bud, as it is nourished by water and sun, open into full glorious bloom. So too, the aroma is sweet!
    Karen

  3. Hey girl, you spoke to my heart, but I bet you knew that already. LOVE the picture, too. It’s absolutely perfect in demonstrating your message. I’m ‘Liking’ your blog. Go girl! Can’t wait to buy your book. WooHOO!

  4. Beautifully said! What a lovely blog from a lovely person! Here’s wishing you all the joys, blessing and success on your new journey. Love ya!

  5. I should have told you yesterday how proud I am of you. You have always been talented, and I am not surprised that you wrote what was in your heart, but publishing a book is really a test of commitment. I hope there are many more ideas floating around inside you just waiting to be expressed.

  6. Welcome to the world of blog! I think you have it figured out just fine- it was a wonderful first day
    . I love trying and learning new things, guess I have more than my fair share of faith to try. However, faith also connotes a sense of long term, longevity and that is what I struggle with. For me, to take up a new something is easy. I wrestle it to the ground and then my focus wanes. I need more faith to sustain me on the long long road.

Leave a Reply

